Overworked

via Daily Prompt: Overworked

The people who have helped to get me to this point in my life are overworked and underappreciated, but today I’m going to try to put into words all that they’ve done for me. Before I continue, I know my posts have been a bit all over the place; from anxious to optimistic, and from power hungry to inspirational, but that’s just how life is. At the end of the day (metaphorically of course since all of these posts are typed at the end of the day), I’m in a pretty good place, but I still post every day with the negative and the positive to show that nothing is ever perfect. I will never be that person on the internet who pretends like everything is great, but I will never act like I’m a solid mess either. Anyways, back to my actual post.

To my mom:

You can be a real pain, but I love you anyways. You work hard every day to get my brother and I to everywhere we want and need to be, and even when you’re pissed because you’ve been telling us to do our schoolwork all day and nothing’s happened yet, you’ll still come back to give us each a hug and let us know that you still love us. I’ll never admit it to you, but I don’t know where I’d be without you.

To the most amazing volunteer and project group leader I know who got me my first job:

Thank you. Thank you for believing in me when I didn’t believe in myself. Thank you for always being optimistic and never judgmental. Thank you for always being there to support me in whatever way you can and for encouraging me to do what I love. People like you are why I didn’t quit and why I’m still moving forward. You do all of this out of the kindness of your heart and you are an inspiration to me. Thank you for being one of the best people I know. I am forever grateful for everything you have done for me, my club, and our community.

To my coaches and club leaders who supported me with their somewhat rough demeanor:

You said I could do anything if I put my mind to it and worked hard enough, and that you were pretty sure I just wouldn’t. When I said “Can to,” as a six year old, you gave me my first chance at public speaking in front of over a hundred people. You convinced me that I was proving you wrong, and that’s what pushed me to do my best and what still does, but as I found out over the summer, you believed in me all along. When I trained for competitions, you told me “Don’t get discouraged when you don’t make top 10, it’s really tough competition and this is your first year.” At the awards ceremonies, you cheered the loudest when I got two ninths, an eighth, a sixth, a fifth, two fourths, four thirds, a second, and a first. Thank you for everything you’ve done for me. I hope I can continue to make you proud, and though I know it’s a lot of work, I hope you’ll continue to be the outstanding coaches and leaders that I’ve had the privilege of knowing for the last ten years.

 

 

Leave a Reply

